In the palm of my hand


I will hold your faith in my palm
so that when you are shaken and troubled
you can find it waiting, resting..until you need it.

I will hold your integrity in my heart
for what better place to keep it safe
then in the place that loves you best?

I will hold your soul in my eye
for when you feel you’re about to lose it
you need only hold my gaze
and it is held fast to you again.

I will hold your love in my love.
for love calls to love
and they keep each other
very good company.

We do not need special words
that spill like marbles
lost on the floor and under the furniture
never truly felt, or believed.

Words are just words.
The thing that creates us,
makes us truly we.
Is the hands, the arms, the trust.

The pure love.
The naked soul.
The simple integrity.
The honored faith.
Found in each other,
that is where truth lives
where faith shows
where love grows
where I will wait.

*B

I am B (call me BB and I will gut you) I like daisies, books, and men who understand the wisdom of Kermit the Frog.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Most Read Poems, My Personal Favorites
5 comments on “In the palm of my hand

Comments are closed.

Bekki B. & Poetry

 photo FB_IMG_1444534206565_zpsr3nbo5vl.jpg

 photo FB_IMG_1444534182487_zpsqucnnm0p.jpg

 photo p1240160.jpg

 photo Screenshot_2016-02-20-19-54-3901.png

“Life is an amazing adventure, an improvised work of art and what’s more, the only thing you have, everything else depends on it, rejoice!”–Paul Squires November 19, 1963 – July 27, 2010

"Dizzy with color

Lost in hues and graces.

These echoes have faces."_Bekki B.

“The only time you look in your neighbor's bowl is to make sure that they have enough. You don't look in your neighbor's bowl to see if you have as much as them.”― Louis C.K.

You're only given a little spark of madness. You mustn't lose it.---Robin Williams

"It’s easy to stay grounded. The ground is very close. And we walk on it every day."-Keanu Reeves

"If someone is nice to you but rude to the waiter, they are not a nice person." William H. Swanson--(33 Unwritten Rules of Management)

"If you judge people, you have no time to love them."--Mother Theresa

"What's this you're writing?" asked Pooh, climbing on the writing table.
"The tao of Pooh," I replied.
"The how of Pooh?" asked Pooh, smudging one of the words I had just written.
"The tao of Pooh", I replied, poking his paw away with my pencil.
"It seems more like the ow ! of Pooh," asked Pooh, rubbing his paw.
"Well, it's not," I replied huffily.
"What's it all about?" asked Pooh, leaning forward & smearing another word.
"It's about how to stay happy and calm under all circumstances!" I yelled.
"Have you read it?" asked Pooh.-- (The Tao of Pooh by Benjamin Hoff)

"When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.”
― John Lennon

"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever" Mahatma Ghandi

"Nanu Nanu" Mork from Ork

"Ohana means family. Family means, nobody gets left behind..or forgotten." Lilo

"This is my family. I found it, all on my own. It's little, and broken, but still good. Yeah, still good." Stitch

"A successful marriage requires falling in love many times, always with the same person."
- Unknown

“Until I feared I would lose it, I never loved to read. One does not love breathing.” 
― Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

“The one thing that doesn't abide by majority rule is a person's conscience.” 
― Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

“I think there's just one kind of folks. Folks.” 
― Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

“The people with the least to give always give the most. Haven’t you noticed that?”
― Catherine Ryan Hyde, Don't Let Me Go

"That’s all addiction really is. It’s trading away the future so you can feel OK right now.”
― Catherine Ryan Hyde, Don't Let Me Go

“Don’t judge him by your past. That belongs to you, not him.”(Kristen Painter--From Novel: Heart of Fire

"Sorry doesn’t mean shit. Not if you don’t plan to stop doing the thing you’re so sorry about. There has to be more to amends than just a word. Anybody can say a damn word.”
― Catherine Ryan Hyde, Don't Let Me Go

“If you wish to glimpse inside a human soul and get to know a man, don’t bother analyzing his ways of being silent, of talking, of weeping, of seeing how much he is moved by noble ideas; you will get better results if you just watch him laugh. If he laughs well, he’s a good man.”
― Fyodor Dostoyevsky

"Do not meddle in the affairs of dragons for you are crunchy and taste good with ketchup. ”-Suzanne McMinn

"I feel that the truth is simply the truth. And that to shield someone from it is only a manner of treating that person with a lack of respect."― Catherine Ryan Hyde, When I Found You

“The fact that you don’t grasp the meaning of something doesn’t mean it has none.”― Catherine Ryan Hyde, When I Found You

“Most people prefer to think that their resentment is entirely the fault of the person they resent, and that twisted logic seems to make sense in their minds. But it makes no sense to me at all... But it's a popular point of view. Probably because it's so much easier. It relieves you of the burden of any and all self-examination.
(Nathan to Nat)”
― Catherine Ryan Hyde, When I Found You

“You can’t tell someone to pursue their dream only if it’s a good match for your own. You can’t dictate what dream he should pursue.” ― Catherine Ryan Hyde, When I Found You

"Nathan had never liked anger. It seemed a barbaric and undignified emotion. He knew it always masked fear or hurt, and had often wished everyone could simply be sensible enough to cut out the middleman.”― Catherine Ryan Hyde, When I Found You

“The black moment is the moment when the real message of transformation is going to come. At the darkest moment comes the light.” ― Joseph Campbell

“We all wind up drawn to what we're afraid of, drawn to try to find a way to make ourselves safe from a thing by crawling inside of it, by loving it, by becoming it.” ― Holly Black, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown

“To be or not to be?' That is not the question. What is the question? The question is not one of being, but of becoming. 'To become more or not to become more' This is the question faced by each intelligence in our universe.” ― Truman G. Madsen, Eternal Man

“…People are rivers, always ready to move from one state of being into another. It is not fair, to treat people as if they are finished beings. Everyone is always becoming and unbecoming.” ― Kathleen Winter, Annabel

“You have to grow. You have to be. You have to love yourself unconditionally.”
― Dominic Riccitello

“It’s no use going back to yesterday, because I was a different person then.”
― Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

“Human evolution has two steps -
from being somebody to being nobody;
and from being nobody to being everybody.
This knowledge can bring
sharing and caring throughout the world.”
― Sri Sri Ravi Shankar

“All I know is that I do not know anything”
― Socrates
“There are times when wisdom cannot be found in the chambers of parliament or the halls of academia but at the unpretentious setting of the kitchen table.”
― E.A. Bucchianeri

“As to the roaming of sages,
They move in utter emptiness,
Let their minds meander in the great nothingness;
They run beyond convention
And go through where there is no gateway.
They listen to the soundless
And look at the formless,
They are not constrained by society
And not bound to its customs.
- Lao-tzu”

“The Purpose of Philosophy is to fall in Love. To strip the world of all its clothes, and fall in Love with it as it stand before you completely naked.”
― Ilyas Kassam

Posts of the past
Goodreads
Follow a soft place to rest… on WordPress.com
Blog Stats
  • 56,866 hits
