The sweetest song..


The following poem is inspired from a Chinese Proverb that goes:
” A bird does not sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song”
It reminds me of  a poem in the book titled “I know why the caged bird sings” by Mya Angelou found here
The poem is written by Paul Laurence Dunbar (also mentioned in the same article) and he calls it “Sympathy.”

I sing because the wind is high
I sing because I live and die
I sing because the sun is bright
I sing because my souls in flight

I sing because I have a song
I know my place
where I belong

I sing because despite my woes
My song lives on
and the heart, it glows

I sing because I am blessed
with a joy that sings
and a bed to rest

I sing because my soul is free
you cannot stop
what lives in me

I sing because through strife
I have dreamt
I have lived my life.

I sing because I have learned
some songs are given
but the best, are earned.

2 thoughts on “The sweetest song..

Comments are closed.