My wish.


star_girl

With eyes pinched closed,
a wish was made,
upon a full moon,
a giant wish,
for something bigger ,
than a body could contain.

I do not need perfection,
I do not need momentary passion,
that flits away never to return,
some quick stir of blood,
all too quickly cooled.

Send me love, Mr moon,
send me enduring love,
solid and complete,
the fitting of a heart,
that springs forth ,
and completes me.

I do not want perfection,
what good a man,
who has no scars,
no time tested wearing,
what good a love,
that knows not my own,
souls pains and lessons.

Bring me love enduring,
that has a face that makes my heart sigh,
a hand that supports and excites me,
makes me picture growing older,
with nary a fear or whimper,
so long as he walks beside me.

Let younger hearts throb ,
for breathless masks,
that have not laughed and loved,
worried or contemplated.
Faces that have not worn
the test of a souls survival.

Give me what has known sorrow,
respected time’s grip,
learned from weight placed on shoulders,
felt that cold wind whisper,
suffered that painful blow.
This is a love that works,
hard and harder each day
to make what fits stay put
like a flower opening,
to let the sun come,
after rain.
enduring love,
if you please.

One thought on “My wish.

Comments are closed.