Art Nouveau: 1895-1910


I love Art Nouveau design, especially in jewelry. I love it. The moment I saw my first piece, I was hooked. The undulating curves of the lines and the ultra feminine women subjects. The sultry use of sheer and translucent material. The inclusion of plants and insects into the design. The balanced feeling of flow and sensuality married together to make something that exists just for the sake of beauty. Art Nouveau is a poets dream. It’s romantic and soft, but has a strength underneath. It feels like art an elf would appreciate.

My instinct, is that this is how nature would enjoy decorating. A bit of showing off, but also a natural flow and intricacy that is fragile but strong, at the same time.

Art Nouveau started in France. It only lasted 15 years and mostly went to the rich and affluent, until print design took it and made it more widely available. It was influenced by Japonism, the Arts and Crafts Movement, and even Celtic art.

It helped usher in my other favorite design period Art Deco. 🙂

