Dear Catherine Ryan Hyde,


Dear Catherine Ryan Hyde, I admire you. Every single thing I have read from you stays with me for days, weeks,months. Each time I open a book you have written, I find myself stopping during the course of reading each chapter, to consider the wisdom of what you have said, the understanding you have shown of the nature if a persons heart and inner thought.

Your words touch me deeply, because they help me define my truths. Things I sense about my personal beliefs, but, have not been able to give adequate expression. You say it, just right, and I admire you, because it matters. Each life, each moment, each shared truth. They matter. People matter. Their hearts matter. The essence of a person, the integrity of who they are and what they express, matters.

I don’t know you, but I like you. You make me feel the same wonder and quiet certainty I felt the first time I read To Kill A Mockingbird. The first time I read Little Woman. The first time a book moved me, made me feel and learn about character. The steadfast desire to be a person of integrity and love. Wisdom, true wisdom, is always startling when you encounter it, because it seems so simple and clear when finally spoken.

You are one of the best writers I have ever read. Your words impact me. You writing brings my mind to life. I have spent many hours contemplating things you have said. It is the essence of what writers strive to do and be, so I just needed to tell you, you have succeeded.

I cannot forget your words. They are shaping me as an adult, the same way To Kill a Mockingbird, shaped me as a child. I guess I just needed to write it down so I can celebrate, in my own way, the joy of being a reader,reading something worthy, quite wonderfully worthy, of being read, not just today, but for the rest of my life.

Your books are why there are readers who love to read.

Ps. This quote is my current favorite. Some of my other favorites are in my sidebar of quotes.

“Most people prefer to think that their resentment is entirely the fault of the person they resent, and that twisted logic seems to make sense in their minds. But it makes no sense to me at all. It’s like saying it’s your fault if I shoot you, because the gun is aiming at you. It completely disregards who’s doing the aiming. But it’s a popular point of view. Probably because it’s so much easier. It relieves you of the burden of any and all self-examination.”(When I Found You) Catherine Ryan Hyde

