Summer Tanager


I was caught by surprise on my way back from the park this morning, by the sight of a red bird. I am use to seeing the standard Cardinal in Pennsylvania. They are very commonly seen here, but this one wasn’t the same as a Cardinal. I looked it up online and it is a more rarely seen Cardinal, called a Summer Tanager. Sweet! It’s name is Tanager, but it was reclassified as a type of Cardinal.

Of course seeing it made me wonder at its symbolism when seen. Native American’s believe all animal sightings, when they happen suddenly, are a sign of something. I’m on the fence, but I certainly liked the what a Cardinal stands for.

 

The red cardinal is a symbol of love and relationships. Native American tradition holds the spiritual belief that spirits, or souls, inhabit the universe and each of its natural elements.

I think it’s a lovely reminder that I am loved.

 

