This poem is a lullaby


This poem is a lullaby
to all my hopes, my fears.
A distracted sending off
to the passing painful years.
A wicked grin, a Mickey Finn
a crazy walk in forgotten shoes.

This poem is a lullaby
to what all came before
a shuffling step toward something new
a grateful showing of the door.
Though, I let go
Though, I let go
It’s not a ballad anymore.

This isn’t an angry rant or sigh
It’s just a silent lullaby.
Gratitude and closure
Releasing things I lost.
Not counting, not measuring
not adding up the cost.
Though, I let go
Though, I let go
It’s not an anthem anymore.

Soft, with love
Slow with wisdom
Gentle with remembered respect.
It’s time to go now.
It’s time to grow now.
Time to unlock that secret door.

Cause, this poem is my lullaby
and lullabies bring peace.

 

