Favorite Poems #1


One of my favorite poems is by Edwin Markham.

It’s called:

OUTWITTED

“He drew a circle that shut me out-
Heretic , rebel, a thing to flout.
But love and I had the wit to win:
We drew a circle and took him In !”

What I love about it, is that it showed up when I was questioning my own path as a teenager. There it was, in a textbook.

I was rebelling against soo many things. The way people decided who I was based on outward appearance. How value was placed on things I didn’t agree on. How I worried about being my own person and how annoyed I was at everyone for not seeing me as a someone with something to say.

Of course this came with an extreme case of fear that nobody would ever understand me. That I would never be accepted by others just as I was.

This poem made me feel that someone, maybe, would. That maybe someday someone would draw a circle around me, take me in. I’d get to be an independent circle, but I’d still be part of something bigger. Yes, this poem made me feel like I wasn’t alone..and a teensy bit hopeful that I would somehow find my way to wherever I belonged.

One thought on “Favorite Poems #1

Comments are closed.